The Reality of Growing Up

When I was little, I couldn’t wait to grow up. I thought it would be all wonderful, hearts and rainbows and sappy music playing in the background. That it would be awesome to move out of home – no parents around to bug you or stop you doing what you want! woohoo, freedom!

Sadly no. Sorry to say, but the reality of it all is much suckier than I thought it would be.

I never knew how cruisey I had it when I was young. Back when the only things you had to worry about were what clothes you were going to wear to school on the mufti days (no uniform days), or how bad your homework was. How sucky it was that your mum wouldn’t let you sleep over at a friends house on a week night. How sad you were that the boy you had a major crush on didn’t even look at you today.

That? Doesn’t even compare to now. Now it’s all about bills. and more bills. Stress. Earning money to live. Responsibility. Marriage and all its complications. Raising a family. Looking after yourself and another person. Even more bills when something breaks down unexpectedly and you don’t have the money to fix it right then so you have to pay it off.

Back then, I could sit down for hours and read a book. All day if I wanted to. Now I’m lucky if I get to read a couple of chapters in  my lunch break at work (on the days I even GET a lunch break!). I never have enough time for anything anymore. The time seems to fly before I’ve even done anything…Weekends – Get up in the morning, sort out H for the day, 1 load of washing and hello – it’s lunchtime! Get her to sleep, bring in washing, and oh look at that, time to cook dinner! Rinse and repeat… Week days it’s the same. Get up, get sorted and it’s time to get her ready for daycare already and get me off to work! Get to work, and it’s time to go home and pick her up already! Hubby arrives home and all of a sudden it’s 7pm and we haven’t even cooked dinner yet. 10pm arrives without warning and we are all overtired and ready for bed. Never mind all the other things I have to do in a day…and trying to fit in some sewing time – you’re kidding right?? It’s no wonder I’m not making much money with my business at the moment, I just never seem to get enough time to get any done! Ohhh how I wish for some free time. A week would be nice. A week where I don’t have to do any housework or mummy duties. A week where I can just relax and do ME time, whatever I want, whenever I want. (Not too much to ask for is it? where’s that genie when you need him??)

And you know what the funny thing is? No matter how old you get and how long you have been away from home, your parents will still nag you. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

