Writing

What is it about writing or blogging that makes you want to spill your guts? Most people I know in real life have NO idea about the stuff that I’ve been posting on here and I’m not comfortable about telling them, yet here I am spilling my innermost thoughts to the entire world? Why do we do this? Why do people want to know how crap you feel when you have been up all night with your baby who won’t sleep, or how mad at your husband you are for not putting out the rubbish.

The answer – because we want someone to relate to us. We want someone to go “hey, I know exactly how you feel, this happened to me last week. YOU ARE NOT ALONE”. This simply makes us feel better. As if the whole universe isn’t just crapping on you, others are sharing in this too. Haha.

Seriously though, just finding someone who relates to you and understands what you are going through is great. In that moment, you are connected to someone, even if they are on the other side of the world from you. Connecting with people, interacting, laughing, crying, it all helps. If someone is interested in what you have to say, it’s quite a boost to how you are feeling. (and of course conversely you have to take the negative comments with the good as well.)

Also, not just with your own blog, but making comments on others too. I’ve made a few comments to people lately, and their responses have blown me away. It’s amazing how much power a few words have….how they have the power to change how someone is feeling. I love making people feel good about what they have written. and it doesn’t take long, it’s not hard to press a few buttons on a keyboard. But what you say needs to come from the heart. Otherwise it’s all just mindless babble. That’s why I don’t post unless I really mean it. And when you do, you certainly get the rewards – it’s such a good feeling to know you have made someone else’s day just that bit brighter, especially if they don’t think there’s much worth living for, all they may need is that one lifeline to pull them back, to make them rethink things, that someone DOES care after all.

I must say…this blogging thing is a bit addictive too…I keep wanting to come back and write more…although have had to stifle myself a bit as I want to post meaningful things instead of whatever just comes into my  head.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing

  1. I very much agree about the awesome feeling when you find someone who understands. It’s a moment of recognition, of knowing you’re not alone.
    I’m working on a book where real people who write share about writing It’s to inspire people to write. I was wondering if I could include some of your words about blogging in it? Your name, age and location would be included and all credit would go to you and a link to your blog.
    All good if you’re not interested. Just thought I’d check.
    JD

Leave a Reply

